11.14.2008

Paul's take on facebook

Well, now we have heard what Helen has to say. This is my take on it. Please excuse me if it is somewhat less goodly worded and more poorly worded than the other one.
I chose not to get Facebook (i'm going to refer to it as facebook, it's funny to say fascbook once in a while, but it's like being devoutly christian and writing CHRISTmas all the time. It LOOKS clever the first time, but it gets annoying faster than Mark Zuckerberg in front of a microphone) because it didn't really feel right. Kind of like in a Horror movie, when one of the protagonists is all skittery and apprehensive right before the monster(s)/murderer(s) come and kill them. Also, because Facebook represents the majority of people who are too stupid to actually handle something a little more complex like a blog or website of their own, and only slightly more mature than those who haunt the forums and blogs of the ones who are smart. It's also really elitist, kind of like in Nazi Germany, when people looked down on you if you didn't support their beliefs. If you walk into a crowded room and yell "Fight the Power!" you get weird looks. Then if you say 'FACEBOOK SUCKS' and proceed to lay down several intelligent and well worded arguments, you are met with "hahaha, you're stupid."
On the other hand. Let's talk about what's GOOD about facebook. You can "reconnect" with old friends. Hooray! if you didn't care enough to stay in touch in the FIRST place, why do you suddenly want to hang out with them now, when they live in a different part of the city/country/world?! You can see how many "friends" you have in relation to the others. Yayyy! Congratulations, you have officially turned "friendship" into a competitive sport. I suppose next they will have "facebook McDonald's toys" or "Facebook brand jeans". Eventually, they could just go and buy out a small nation, and then set up all their servers there! Maybe they'll even say "you must have at least THIS MANY friends to ride the ride."
One final thing. The people who are on "Facebook general" as in the people who start groups/events that end up with a quarter million people in it, really need to mature a little before using the Internet. It's like if a 4chan user and a three-year old had a love-child. and then you gave them candy and a LOLcat. My brother "uses" a lot, so i get to see all these stupid events like "the facebook blackout"
"on November 24th, we'll ALL NOT USE FACEBOOK FOR A DAY!!!!! Then, blah blah blah, something something about getting 'the old facebook' back". Grow up! It's been like three months since they decided that "the new facebook" is the ONLY facebook. I liked it better when the "old" facebook was the one that DIDN'T EXIST. but I'M not crying about it!
And if you think that 4chan/7chan is bad, and even Facebook, don't even get me started on the so called 'professional forums' which are populated by the 'mature adults'.
eg. Bill C-10
people are calling each other names that would be looked down upon by a third grader. like 'fiberal'. The only difference between these people and the largest flame-wars in the OT forums is that these people aren't allowed to swear, and they NEVER let grammar lapses slide.
I also hate facebook, because it seems to be the hive of activity for the ingrates who spell "you" like "u" or if they do feel like saying "lol" then they actually say "ell oh ell." IT'S "LAUL" MORONS.

EDIT: Just kind of ignore that first little bit. Helen decided that there are more rewarding things than finishing blog posts, so we'll be hearing from her a little bit later.

No comments: