11.14.2008

FASCBOOK. THE KILLER OF PRIVACY.

OK! So, this was supposed to be the first entry, but some team member who's name I won't mention (PAUL) didn't wait for me to post it before writing the response type deal. ANYWAY, these are my thoughts on facebook. 

Basically, this blog is meant to entertain all of those people like us who despise facebook with a passion. As you can see, it's "fascbook". This is due to the fact that when people ask how to say "fascist" they often say "face-ist" or something wrong like that, and thus Paul and I were led to the conclusion that "fascbook" suits facebook better as a name. So, you may be wondering why exactly we feel that facebook is fascist... many people do, but it's actually not that different. If you look at fascism, you see an extreme violation of privacy, thus facebook. Also, you see that you have to follow all of societies trends, thus facebook. 

In terms of the privacy, it's a shame, because if you have a page at all, people can trace pictures back to you and the like because you're tagged. What a wonderful creation! Not. Now, many facebook fans state: "YOU DON'T HAVE TO ADD PEOPLE AS A FRIEND!!" and get all defensive, because they're in denial. However, YOUR PRIVACY IS NEVER SAFE ON FACEBOOK. Even if you don't add people as a friend, it doesn't mean that they can't see pictures of you in other people's albums! Also, many people do add people they don't know, simply have a higher friend count and win that particular social completition... but more on that later. Essentially, even if you don't add the people you don't know, there are definitely pictures of you on your real friends' pages, and if they happen to add complete and total strangers, guess who's looking at your pics? If you said "those complete and total strangers", you get 22.3 points. Congrats! These are a few reasons why Paul and I choose to simply not have facebook, because honestly, it's so much safer to simply have email. You can send pictures to those you want to see them, and send emails that are much better than those posts on your wall. 

In terms of the whole following society so you aren't pummelled, most people are peer pressured into putting their safety (privacy) at risk. Since facebook is the "in thing", EVERYONE HAS TO HAVE IT. It's like the unwritten rule... oh wait, it is written in various people's yearbooks and such: "Keep in touch next year when I go off to university... but how if you don't have facebook?! You should really get it...." Seriously, the societal pressure to follow the facebook trend is strong, and totally NOT COOL. When facebook was first becoming popular way back when, I remember an entire group of us not having it. There were about... 10 of us... now there are two. This does not include Paul, as I didn't know him then. So, we then move onto the whole societal pressure not only to have facebook, but to have as many friends as possible. Someone once said to me "you just don't want to get facebook so that you don't have a low number of friends". Personally, if some sort of apocalypse took place and the only way for survival was to get a facebook account, I'd probably choose death. But if that weren't an option and I got it (hissss) I would want the lowest number of friends for optimum safety. But no. That does not affect today's society. Instead, our wonderful culture says that popularity is more important, so, there you have it. Facebook says it's best to have facebook, and have lots of friends and thus, if you don't you are shunned from society. FASCISTS. 

Another thing I really hate about facebook is that if you don't have it, you don't hear about stuff. Seriously, someone once told me that they hated facebook, but had to get an account because their school's student council operated out of it. Using facebook to plan gatherings... safe? Questionable. Also, society requires you in certain cases to have facebook, or you're excluded from participating... again, not cool. It really unfortunate that facebook has this much power over our generation. Honestly people. Way to give into fascism.

1 comment:

Hank said...

Delete your account now!

http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=16929680703