2.20.2009

well, well, well...

As, who ever is reading this is more likely than not aware, Facebook has decided to change their terms of service, such that they automatically own ANYTHING you put up on their site, and are allowed to do whatever they feel like doing to it, be it advertising, or showing it to their mothers or printing copies of it, and making it into weird paper dolls and then burning it.
Pretty much, what i am saying, is that this is the first step towards internet totalitarianism.
All you have to do is fight it, join one of those immature groups that threatens facebook by having a tantrum at them, or not signing in for three hours, or whatever it is you do. Maybe this time they will think "they can't get our pictures if we all put them on at once!"
Do that! seriously! if everyone just starts uploading crazy hi-res images at the same time, their servers will crash, and they'll lose ALL THEIR STUFF.

12.18.2008

infiltrate.

So, i was looking for my friend's email the other day, and you know, i kind of considered getting facebook so i can find people. But then i thought "like HELL." so with a little creativity, and google, i used facebook to find out stuff about people. THIS is why we stay away from facebook capice? I'M pretty harmless, but you never know what kind of creepoes who DO have facebook are looking through all your stuff, or jerking off to some picture of you on your friends profile. The only way to TRULY be safe is to remove all your friends, and then use an alias and never post any media on it at all. so basically, you go on the internet and sit in the loser part of it by yourself, and you are safe. You COULD be hanging out in the FUN part of the internet, and just as safe, if not safer! this is the FUN internet, and the only way you guys could find me is if you somehow increased the resolution on my profile picture, and then read the newspaper title from under my cat. WHICH YOU CAN'T actually do very well. even 4chan is safer, but there you have to watch out for epic fails on your part, like writing your SIN numbers and such.

11.24.2008

THE PLAN.

So now we get down to the flesh of this blog. It was actually more of a one time thing, but i feel like i should write occasionally in it so that people know the true horrors of Facebook.
I've already said what i think about it, how it's not really "friends" if you don't talk to them, and the only reason you "have" them is so that you have a higher count than someone else.

Like i also said, i really like the immaturity of it all. And the sheer amount of BAD IDEA in one place. Just use emails! and also, to all you who do have facebook. Not logging in for a day isn't going to get you your precious "old" facebook back. Suck it up. What you REALLY should do, is get everyone to log in and out, and use up a whole bunch of their servers memory, so that they crash. If EVERYONE kept logging in and out, and spamming messages at everyone else, the servers would give up and break. THEN, when they got reset, it would just have the old facebook already loaded! Tadaaa! No need to thank me! But make sure you get enough people doing it, so that they can't get the server back up right away again. YTMND did it to ebaumsworld, and look how it turned out for them!

11.14.2008

Paul's take on facebook

Well, now we have heard what Helen has to say. This is my take on it. Please excuse me if it is somewhat less goodly worded and more poorly worded than the other one.
I chose not to get Facebook (i'm going to refer to it as facebook, it's funny to say fascbook once in a while, but it's like being devoutly christian and writing CHRISTmas all the time. It LOOKS clever the first time, but it gets annoying faster than Mark Zuckerberg in front of a microphone) because it didn't really feel right. Kind of like in a Horror movie, when one of the protagonists is all skittery and apprehensive right before the monster(s)/murderer(s) come and kill them. Also, because Facebook represents the majority of people who are too stupid to actually handle something a little more complex like a blog or website of their own, and only slightly more mature than those who haunt the forums and blogs of the ones who are smart. It's also really elitist, kind of like in Nazi Germany, when people looked down on you if you didn't support their beliefs. If you walk into a crowded room and yell "Fight the Power!" you get weird looks. Then if you say 'FACEBOOK SUCKS' and proceed to lay down several intelligent and well worded arguments, you are met with "hahaha, you're stupid."
On the other hand. Let's talk about what's GOOD about facebook. You can "reconnect" with old friends. Hooray! if you didn't care enough to stay in touch in the FIRST place, why do you suddenly want to hang out with them now, when they live in a different part of the city/country/world?! You can see how many "friends" you have in relation to the others. Yayyy! Congratulations, you have officially turned "friendship" into a competitive sport. I suppose next they will have "facebook McDonald's toys" or "Facebook brand jeans". Eventually, they could just go and buy out a small nation, and then set up all their servers there! Maybe they'll even say "you must have at least THIS MANY friends to ride the ride."
One final thing. The people who are on "Facebook general" as in the people who start groups/events that end up with a quarter million people in it, really need to mature a little before using the Internet. It's like if a 4chan user and a three-year old had a love-child. and then you gave them candy and a LOLcat. My brother "uses" a lot, so i get to see all these stupid events like "the facebook blackout"
"on November 24th, we'll ALL NOT USE FACEBOOK FOR A DAY!!!!! Then, blah blah blah, something something about getting 'the old facebook' back". Grow up! It's been like three months since they decided that "the new facebook" is the ONLY facebook. I liked it better when the "old" facebook was the one that DIDN'T EXIST. but I'M not crying about it!
And if you think that 4chan/7chan is bad, and even Facebook, don't even get me started on the so called 'professional forums' which are populated by the 'mature adults'.
eg. Bill C-10
people are calling each other names that would be looked down upon by a third grader. like 'fiberal'. The only difference between these people and the largest flame-wars in the OT forums is that these people aren't allowed to swear, and they NEVER let grammar lapses slide.
I also hate facebook, because it seems to be the hive of activity for the ingrates who spell "you" like "u" or if they do feel like saying "lol" then they actually say "ell oh ell." IT'S "LAUL" MORONS.

EDIT: Just kind of ignore that first little bit. Helen decided that there are more rewarding things than finishing blog posts, so we'll be hearing from her a little bit later.

FASCBOOK. THE KILLER OF PRIVACY.

OK! So, this was supposed to be the first entry, but some team member who's name I won't mention (PAUL) didn't wait for me to post it before writing the response type deal. ANYWAY, these are my thoughts on facebook. 

Basically, this blog is meant to entertain all of those people like us who despise facebook with a passion. As you can see, it's "fascbook". This is due to the fact that when people ask how to say "fascist" they often say "face-ist" or something wrong like that, and thus Paul and I were led to the conclusion that "fascbook" suits facebook better as a name. So, you may be wondering why exactly we feel that facebook is fascist... many people do, but it's actually not that different. If you look at fascism, you see an extreme violation of privacy, thus facebook. Also, you see that you have to follow all of societies trends, thus facebook. 

In terms of the privacy, it's a shame, because if you have a page at all, people can trace pictures back to you and the like because you're tagged. What a wonderful creation! Not. Now, many facebook fans state: "YOU DON'T HAVE TO ADD PEOPLE AS A FRIEND!!" and get all defensive, because they're in denial. However, YOUR PRIVACY IS NEVER SAFE ON FACEBOOK. Even if you don't add people as a friend, it doesn't mean that they can't see pictures of you in other people's albums! Also, many people do add people they don't know, simply have a higher friend count and win that particular social completition... but more on that later. Essentially, even if you don't add the people you don't know, there are definitely pictures of you on your real friends' pages, and if they happen to add complete and total strangers, guess who's looking at your pics? If you said "those complete and total strangers", you get 22.3 points. Congrats! These are a few reasons why Paul and I choose to simply not have facebook, because honestly, it's so much safer to simply have email. You can send pictures to those you want to see them, and send emails that are much better than those posts on your wall. 

In terms of the whole following society so you aren't pummelled, most people are peer pressured into putting their safety (privacy) at risk. Since facebook is the "in thing", EVERYONE HAS TO HAVE IT. It's like the unwritten rule... oh wait, it is written in various people's yearbooks and such: "Keep in touch next year when I go off to university... but how if you don't have facebook?! You should really get it...." Seriously, the societal pressure to follow the facebook trend is strong, and totally NOT COOL. When facebook was first becoming popular way back when, I remember an entire group of us not having it. There were about... 10 of us... now there are two. This does not include Paul, as I didn't know him then. So, we then move onto the whole societal pressure not only to have facebook, but to have as many friends as possible. Someone once said to me "you just don't want to get facebook so that you don't have a low number of friends". Personally, if some sort of apocalypse took place and the only way for survival was to get a facebook account, I'd probably choose death. But if that weren't an option and I got it (hissss) I would want the lowest number of friends for optimum safety. But no. That does not affect today's society. Instead, our wonderful culture says that popularity is more important, so, there you have it. Facebook says it's best to have facebook, and have lots of friends and thus, if you don't you are shunned from society. FASCISTS. 

Another thing I really hate about facebook is that if you don't have it, you don't hear about stuff. Seriously, someone once told me that they hated facebook, but had to get an account because their school's student council operated out of it. Using facebook to plan gatherings... safe? Questionable. Also, society requires you in certain cases to have facebook, or you're excluded from participating... again, not cool. It really unfortunate that facebook has this much power over our generation. Honestly people. Way to give into fascism.